Nothing a Cup of Tea and a Little Picard Won’t Fix

On those rainy days when all I want is to curl up in a blanket and shut out the world, I find that some English Breakfast and Star Trek solves just about everything.

Don't you feel ten times happier just looking at them?! :D

Don’t you feel ten times happier just looking at them?! 😀

But I guess the point is that, regardless of how we deal with them, we will always have those days. Days where we just wake up on the wrong side of the bed. Days when it’s cold and rainy outside, and we can’t pull ourselves out from under the covers. Days when we look in the mirror and feel uglier than usual. Days when someone says or does something that makes us feel bad about ourselves.

I had one of those days recently. A series of events left me wanting to crawl into a hole and not come out. But my husband said something great. He said, “When this happens, what matters is how you deal with it.”

Now let’s rewind several weeks. I had one of those mornings. Didn’t want to get out of bed. Didn’t want to face the world. I have a tendency to feel like a failure on days like that. I think, I don’t want to do it, I don’t want to smile, I don’t want to function. Therefore, I’m failing, and the people around me think I’m failing too.

So naturally I got angry at my husband for thinking I was a failure! 🙂 But he said to me, “If you need a day off, you should take one. I trust your judgment.”

Talk about relief. Talk about feeling understood. Talk about feeling loved. Isn’t he great?

So I did. I stayed in. I drank a cup of English Breakfast tea and watched four episodes of Star Trek. On the couch, in a blanket, in my pajamas.

I didn’t let the day ruin me. I didn’t let the day crush me. I just took that day to energize myself and the next day was great. Having bad days where we don’t function ideally doesn’t make us failures. It doesn’t even make us less amazing. It just means we need to curl up and recharge.

So when I had this most recent bad day, it got me down. I cried, I couldn’t eat dinner. But I knew I wasn’t a failure. I knew I wasn’t less amazing. I knew I would come out of it just fine. Because I treated it like what it was: a bad day.

Sometimes we have a series of bad days. Maybe we have a bad week. Maybe it seems like a bad foreseeable future. But my husband’s advice rings true: “What matters is how we deal with it.” So if we have to curl up and watch Star Trek for a little while, that’s ok. The important thing is that we analyze what we’re feeling and realize that we won’t stay feeling that way forever.

2 thoughts on “Nothing a Cup of Tea and a Little Picard Won’t Fix

Leave a Reply

