What’s with the Teapot?

Teapot 011

As you may have noticed, I’ve smothered this blog with images of a little teapot. Initially this was completely impulsive, but I think I’ve decided to keep it. Mostly because it’s cute. But also because the teapot is what made me decide to start this little project and will, I hope, keep me motivated.

The other day my husband ventured out into the world to be productive while I retreated into the recesses of the bed and pulled the covers back over my head. And I didn’t like it. I didn’t like how much more disciplined and responsible he was being, and how much it was showing. We’re almost twelve years apart, and I often find myself feeling like I’m having trouble keeping up. Sometimes I think that I don’t have much to contribute to our partnership – he’s more experienced, more adventurous, well-read, well-traveled, successfully self-employed, socially well-connected, and multilingual.

So as I crawled out from under my pillow I made a decision. ‘If I’m going to stay home today,’ I thought, ‘I’m going to accomplish a lot. When my husband comes home today, I want him to think, “Wow, I have an amazing wife.”‘

So I got up, made myself presentable, and attacked the house. I shopped for groceries. I cleaned. I exercised. I gardened. I did laundry even though it wasn’t laundry day. I swept out the garage, the kitchen, the front walk, and the foyer. I whipped up a batch of fresh homemade pesto just because I had the time. I resisted the television. And right before he came home I made fresh bruschetta so he’d have a warm snack waiting in the oven.

I felt fantastic. What had started as a dreary, unmotivated morning had become a personal triumph – not just because my husband was happy, not just because my husband was proud, but because I was proud of myself. And don’t worry, I’m getting to the teapot.

Teapot 005

And so as he munched happily on the bruschetta, I turned on the kettle and went to fix his usual green tea. But before I submerged the teabag, I stopped. I wanted to be amazing. I didn’t want to deliver an expected, bland teabag I’d bought from Costco to the beautiful Japanese man sitting at the table, who I knew would’ve really appreciated a decent cup of green tea with delicate presentation; who I knew would’ve thought that this tiny act of thoughtfulness was amazing.

So I put away the teabag and reached into the back of the cupboard to get the sweet little teapot and the loose-leaf green tea from Satsuma, Japan. It made him so happy. And I felt amazing! That’s when I realized I didn’t want to be amazing sometimes, or only for special occasions; I wanted to be amazing all the time. I always wanted to bring him steeped loose-leaf tea in the tiny teapot. I always wanted to have homemade snacks ready, made from fresh ingredients. I wanted us both to be happy, healthy, and satisfied whenever we were at home, and I wanted to provide that.

The teapot helped me realize that through small acts of thoughtfulness and just a little bit of effort, I could be an amazing wife all the time. And I’m excited.

So that’s my goal. To understand myself, my relationships, and my world, and contribute something in return. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

